x-octo home Business judgment on AI products
中文

Real-revenue cases

How I ve Responded To COVID, Tried New Channels, and Launched New

Real demand

A teacher sells a card and dice game that drills English phrasal verbs to ESL teachers and learners, mostly through Amazon and a Shopify store, at roughly $1.5K a month.

Founder interview, self-reported 亚马逊站内广告Facebook 广告YouTube 免费课教育会议人脉
Primary source
View original

01

Real-demand verdict

Real-demand verdict

Real demand

Phrasal verbs are a genuine, persistent pain point for English learners, and teachers already pay for classroom materials, so this replaces DIY worksheets and generic textbooks. But at $1.5K/month with one founder, it is small and highly seasonal.

How it makes money

ESL teachers and self-learners buy the physical card game, expansion decks, and teacher T-shirts on Amazon and Shopify; online courses and YouTube add secondary revenue.

What old behavior it replaces

DIY worksheets and generic English textbooks.

02

Where the first customers came from

Not stated; the founder only mentions that educator connections from conferences later led to partnerships.

Acquisition channels 亚马逊站内广告Facebook 广告YouTube 免费课教育会议人脉

03

Tactics you can copy

  1. 01Run Facebook lead ads (~$50/month) to collect emails, then nurture with a 15-email/15-video automated series that pitches the course or product on day 15.
  2. 02Send handwritten thank-you postcards to Amazon buyers to earn authentic reviews and lift listing ranking.
  3. 03After securing the trademark, enroll in Amazon Brand Registry to unlock a storefront page and bundle discounts that raise average order value.
Moving it to an AI business

The cheap-lead-ad plus long email nurture plus day-N conversion funnel transfers directly to launching an AI tool or AI course; the handwritten-card review tactic also works for any AI app that lives or dies by platform reviews.

04

Evidence and limits

Self-reported numbers are unaudited — treat them as leads, not facts
Founder interview, self-reported

Revenue basis · Founder self-reported, unaudited (see source page)

What evidence is missing

The $1.5K/month figure is founder self-reported and unaudited, and it is unclear whether it is revenue or profit.
No user counts, repeat-purchase rate, or churn data, so durability of demand is unverified.
The original customer acquisition method and first sales source are not stated.