What it is in one line
An AI assistant pipeline for the browser: it stuffs ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and more into a sidebar and right-click menu, so you can summarize, rewrite, translate, and ask without leaving the page.
Who built it
A browser extension (Chrome/Edge) operated by MaxAI Inc, on the Chrome Web Store since 2023 and named to a16z's 2024 generative-AI consumer app ranking (Top 50). Founder, team size, and jurisdiction are not disclosed.
Read: it trains no models and owns no models — it is a distribution layer for models, plugging in whoever is best and charging for convenience. Its assets are install base and habit; its risk is that model makers build the same feature into their own products.
What it actually does
- Page-level AI → a sidebar on any page for asking, summarizing, and translating the current page, no new tab
- Selected-text actions → highlight any text, then right-click to rewrite, translate, explain, or reply
- Multi-model switching → aggregates o1, GPT-4o, Claude-3.5-Sonnet/Haiku, Gemini-1.5-Pro/Flash, Llama-3.1-405B, Mistral-Large-2; on the image side DALL·E 3, FLUX.1, and SD3 Medium
- Documents and video → PDF chat, YouTube summaries, image analysis (OCR, math)
- One-click translation → full-page bilingual view
It positions itself as an in-UI assistant for a human, not an autonomous agent and not an API service — a deliberate boundary written into its own ToS.
What old behavior it replaces
The copy-paste-switch-tab routine.
To summarize a paragraph, polish an email, or translate a passage on a webpage, the standard sequence was: copy, open a new tab, paste into ChatGPT, wait, copy back, paste into the original spot. Six actions per operation, dozens of times a day. MaxAI compresses those six actions into one right-click or one click, keeping the workflow uninterrupted.
Read: it does not replace ChatGPT; it replaces the round trip to ChatGPT. That is the shared bet of every browser-extension AI tool: users are lazy enough about switching that they will pay for not switching.
Business model
Freemium. Free tier gets daily-limited fast AI replies; the paid tier unlocks unlimited smart models and image generation. Price quotes are inconsistent across sources: the official pricing page shows roughly $12/month billed annually ($144/year) or $30/month monthly; some reviews cite $19.99-20/month. Annual billing is non-refundable.
Hard numbers
- traffic board figure: 2.56M monthly visits, +13311.51% MoM, simultaneously on the global growth, overseas, and global boards
- Chrome Web Store: 1M+ active users, 4.7 stars; vendor claims 14,000+ five-star ratings at 4.8/5
- a16z 2024 Top 50 generative-AI consumer apps
- The site claims usage at Airbnb, Google, Amazon, Microsoft, Netflix, Meta, and top universities — marketing claims, no independent verification
- Team size, revenue, funding: all undisclosed
Four-way read
| Dimension |
Call |
| Founder-product fit |
Not disclosed; cannot be assessed |
| Product insight |
"Uninterrupted workflow" is the right pitch, and multi-model choice gives users agency; but features are near-identical to rivals (Merlin, Sider, Monica) |
| Execution quality |
The extension has run stably across major browsers for two-plus years with broad model coverage; adequate for a distribution layer |
| Timing |
The plugin lane is crowded, and model vendors are shipping in-app assistants themselves, squeezing the middleman |
The call
Worth watching — but that +13311% MoM needs a question mark. Backed out of 2.56M monthly visits, the prior month was roughly 19K. A jump of that size looks more like a ranking-methodology change (newly counted web app / new domain traffic, or a restat after a site redesign) than a product suddenly going viral; nothing in public sources matches — no major press, no campaign, no launch.
Read: between genuine takeoff (a platform feature, a market breaking out) and a measurement-methodology change, the odds favor the methodology change. Treat 2.56M as an unverified upper bound, not real growth to project from.
Strip away the MoM anomaly and the product itself is a mature, working browser distribution layer with a real base of 1M active users. Its core risk is not quality but position: once model vendors build the same functions directly into browsers and operating systems, how much room is left for the middle layer? It is also expanding onto its own web app, but there it competes with ChatGPT itself.
What to watch next
① Whether next month's MoM holds — if 2.56M stays at 2M+ or rises, it was real growth; if it collapses back to the hundreds of thousands, the methodology change is confirmed
② The overall browser-distribution layer — are peers (Merlin, Sider, Monica) moving in sync or trading share
③ Any official action proving reality (a release, press coverage, store-ranking change)
What you can take from it
Product logic: compressing a high-frequency six-step copy-paste-switch routine into one gesture is the plainest efficiency logic there is. Before building a tool, count the steps users take in the scene it replaces; if you can remove two or more, the product has a reason to exist.
Multi-model aggregation positioning: refuse to take sides, hand users the choice of which model fits a task, and sell "you are using a top-model pool." For end users that selling point depreciates as every model becomes good enough.
Verdict
Worth watching, but unproven. The product is a mature tool with a real installed base, but the 13,311% MoM is most likely an artifact of measurement, and the real growth signal has to wait for next month's data.